My First Blog Post

Hi guys,

My name is Ernie. I’m a chef and I’ve wanted to start a blog for quite some time now, but I had difficulty deciding on what to blog about so I asked my cousin Josh if he’d help me with the blog.

I spent some time mulling over ideas to write for our first blog post and I decided to make our first post about explaining the meaning behind the name “Jernie” and why we’re using it as the name for our blog.

The name Jernie originally started as a way for Josh to mock Jedward (and embarrass me). Jedward are Irish pop singers. They’re twins called John and Edward. They meshed their names together and got Jedward. 6 or 7 years ago Josh and I were having a conversation about them and Josh jokingly said to me, “We’re better than Jedward. Josh and Ernie, together we’re Jernie!” and then he started singing Don’t Stop Believin’ by the band Journey. When he finally shut up and stopped singing he started coming up with all of these ridiculously embarrassing ideas such as Jernie Airways, Jernie Railways, Jernie Bus & Coach Hire and even Jernie Condoms. His slogan? “We’re going to take you on a magical Jernie!”

I suspect his ideas were all tongue-in-cheek. Nevertheless, I was embarrassed for the both of us.

The second meaning behind the name is actually from Dragonball Z where Goku and Vegeta fuse into Gogeta. Josh, of course, once again said that “We’re better than Goku and Vegeta. Gogeta? Pfff he’s got nothing on us. We’re Josh and Ernie. Together we’re Jernie!” and of course he had to make it just as embarrassing as the Jedward situation by wanting us to do the little fusion dance that Goku and Vegeta did in the show where they touch tips…..fingertips that is.

fusion

No Josh. I am not going to fuse with you.

Once again, I was embarrassed for the both of us.

The third and final reason is that the band Journey are one of Josh’s favourite bands.

There’s a girl who works in one of the local supermarkets where we live that Josh has a HUGE crush on, but since he’s too shy (too much of a wimp) to ask her out I’m going to take this opportunity to use the titles of Journeys songs to rip into Josh for being a wimp for not asking her out.

Don’t Stop Believin’ – That one day you’ll work up the courage to ask her out.

Who’s Crying Now – You are Josh, because you waited too long and someone else will ask her out.

Lovin’, Touchin, Squeezin’ – Her will only happen in your dreams.

Life Time of Dreams – Because that’s all it’ll ever be unless you stop being a wimp Josh.

When You’re Alone – And you will be alone Josh, since you’re too wimpy to ask her out.

Where Were You – Josh? Lurking in the bushes in her garden again?

Never Walk Away – Unfortunately that’s the only direction you know where to walk when she’s around. Man up Josh.

Do You Recall – That time you were being a wimp and wouldn’t ask her out?

Ask The Lonely – Josh is an expert on this subject afterall.

When I Think of You – He needs a tissue.

Good Morning Girl – Is something you’ll never get to say to her.

Look Into The Future – And she’s still not yours since you don’t have the balls to ask her out.

Someday Soon – You’ll still be single.

Happy To Give – You a hard time over being a wimp.

I’m Cryin’ – From laughter over how big of a pussy you’re being.

I had about 50 of those. I could’ve done that all night….Send Her My Love – I’ll have to because you won’t do it yourself…..Sorry. I couldn’t resist one last dig. Okay. That’s enough of those for now.

So why did I agree to use the name Jernie? I didn’t. I asked Josh in passing if he wanted to start up a blog and what do you know? He jumped on the opportunity to embarrass me once again with the Jernie thing. He set up this blog and didn’t tell me the name until it was done….I should’ve suspected something was up. Even after all these years the name still embarrasses me.

I hope you liked what will hopefully be the first of many more blogs.

Ernie

Leave a Reply

